Snow Slam!

Hooray. It is snowing yet again. I literally feel suffocated. I like knowing that I can go out and run run run until my legs can’t anymore (so a block and a half) but with all this snow it is impossible. Everywhere I look there’s a damn mound of snow. Orlando sounds like a fantastic idea right about now. Stunningly, my parents suggested I look into moving somewhere warm and different, a place where 200 people aren’t applying for the same job. Hmmm.

I would like to share two videos of poetry on this snowy day. Because, umm, poetry. One of my favorite genres of writing at which, unfortunately, I am no good. To write poetry you have to go into the deepest parts on yourself, you have to be willing to be completely exposed and vulnerable. You won’t have a good poem if you half-ass what you mean or sugarcoat your feelings. And it isn’t just putting nice words that rhyme together – that’s elementary school, bruh. It is amazing when people can take words and apply them in ways you would have never thought possible and transcend an entire room of listeners into a whole other place. If you have never, go to a poetry slam.

I was sucked into the vortex of YouTube last night. I started off by looking up exploding cysts (don’t ask) and ended up in the realm of poetry. If you have ever been in the grips of depression or have ever felt the need to shrink yourself and haven’t been able to express it, these are for you (or if you think they may serve as triggers, please ignore).

The first is “Explaining My Depression to My Mother” by Sabrina Benaim, which is followed by “Shrinking Women” by Lily Myers. I promise to pick male poets next time.

Leave a Reply

