Umbrella.

You said ‘I gotchu’
So I stood under your
Umbrella
Ella, ella, eh, eh, eh
Under your umbrella
You’d shield me from the downpour
Because your round canopy
Promised you would
For a ride we’d go up and away
High in the sky on some Mary Poppins type shit
But when it rained
It poured and lo and behold
There was a rip in your
Umbrella
Ella, ella, eh, eh, eh
And as I searched for the source
Of the leak
I realized this was some dollar store garbage
Umbrella
Thin as rice paper
The droplets streamed
In my eyes
Through all of me
Down, down to my shoes
The wind blew like a stage four hurricane
And you flipped yourself
Inside out
And I held on tight, so tight
But the stronger the storm
The more you threatened to blow away
I lost my grip and off you went
I watched you lose yourself
In the wind and rain and
Collapse into yourself
Tears mixed with rain
At the realization that
You ain’t no Rihanna
And I was left standing without a shield
Without protection
You proved to be
Nothing more than a flimsy
Umbrella
Ella, ella, eh, eh, eh

Leave a Reply

